March 07 - March 13, 2005

MTAP Math Challenge 2005
INNHS tops secondary Math tilt

Kriz Josette Abergas and Kryselle Pascual, both fourth year high school students of the Ilocos Norte National High School (INNHS) led their school in topping the recent 2005 Metrobank MTAP-DepEd Math Challenge-Secondary Level held February 26 at Northwestern University (NWU) in Laoag City.

Abegas and Pascual topped the fourth year high school level beating entries from the Mariano Marcos State University-Laboratory High School (MMSU-LHS) and Ilocos Norte College of Arts and Trades (INCAT) and thus earned the right to represent Laoag City in the regional finals slated on March 11 at Dagupan West Central School in Dagupan City, Pangasinan. The duo was coached by Mrs. Marilyn Ventura, Mrs. Lilibeth Espejo and Mr. Roy Matias.

Abergas also qualified for the individual category and would also represent the city.

INNHS also lorded it in the first and second year high school levels as Marvin dela Cruz and Kelly Amor Chan topped the freshman category, while Via Bing Bulaun and Jenny Apostol romped off with the sophomore diadem.

Averting a sweep of the secondary level was the MMSU-LHS team of Mariekris Baltazar and Raymond de Peralta as they won the third year level.

Meanwhile, in the elementary level, St. Santiago Elementary School, composed of Richmond Ng Chiu and Hans Jefferson Chua, garnered the team title in the Grade 6 category as they also qualified for the regional finals slated in the same date as of the secondary level.

Chiu also qualified for the individual category. Serving as coach for the two grade-schoolers is Mrs. Fritzie Aplacador.

Other winners in the elementary level are:

For Grade 1, Josiah Lance Bautista and Jomari Carlo Lucero of MMSU-Laboratory Elementary School; Grade 2, Karyl Angelu Borromeo and Louise Joy Martin also of MMSU-LES;

Grade 3, Rowena Mhay Moneda and Katherine Castillo; Grade 4, Kazandra Vicente and Jesus Reyes; Grade 5, Ashley Ryan Vidad and Jaimee Mendoza all of Shamrock Elementary School.

The elementary level competition was held on February 25 also at NWU.

Organizers of the competition said the success of the activity was due largely to the “all-out support” of Dr. Cecilia P. Aribuabo, City Schools Division Superintendent; Mrs. Viraluz S. Raguindin, assistant superintendent; and Mr. Alfredo P. Garma, education supervisor in charge of Mathematics.

Metrobank Laoag Branch manager Herminio C. Cambe personally attended the awarding ceremonies as he awarded the medals to the winners.

The organizers also extended their gratitude to Col. Ben A. Nicolas, NWU president, and Thelma Corpuz, NWU High School and Elementary School principal for hosting the said competition for this year.

The annual Math competition is sponsored by Metrobank, MTAP and the Department of Education (DepEd).


| Back To Top |

Copyright 2005 Ilocos Times. All rights reserved.
SP set to summon NFC for ‘illegal confiscation’

INNHS tops secondary Math tilt

LC prepares for El Niño

BBM finds no need to revive DPS

LC SK prexy suspended for 1 month

LC council OKs Chua brother recommendation

...But ABC nominates one of their own to fill vacancy

City Hall to implement dress code

City Hall warns studes on recreation centers anew

MAIS bldg to be completed soon

MVF: public streets are not for private parking

Carasi ethnic tribes propose Magdadaran Talib festival

LC set to join 2005 Aliwan festival

TB claims LC jail inmate