February 26, 2006

Amado I. Yoro
Hawaii Contributor

Ilocano confirmed as member of Honolulu Police Commission

Nine members of the Honolulu City Council confirmed the appointment of Labor leader Ben Saguibo during the regular Council Session on February 15, 2006 at the City Council Chamber upon the presentation of resolution number 06-027 by Council member Romy Cachola relating to the appointment of Mr. Ben Saguibo as a member of the Honolulu Police Commission for 5 years.

Saguibo is a current business manager and secretary-treasurer of the Laborers International Union of North America AFL-CIO Local 368-Hawaii, and is also very active in the community including the Filipino Centennial Celebration Commission known as Act 159, a body that plan, prepare and implement the various programs and activities in the celebration of the 100 years of the first arrival of the “contract workers” sacada this year.

The Honolulu Police Commission is made up of seven individuals appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. All members serve staggered terms of five years, volunteering their services and receiving no compensation. The commission elects its own chair and vice chair each year from among its members.

The Police Commission has the following mandated responsibilities: appoints and may remove the Chief of Police; reviews rules and regulations for the administration of the Honolulu Police Department; reviews the annual budget prepared by the chief of police and may make recommendations thereon to the mayor; receives, considers, and investigates charges brought by the public against the conduct of the department or any of its members and submits a written report of its findings to the chief of police.

The commissioners are committed to continue working proactively with the department to address problems regarding police conduct and other issues. Saguibo will serve until 2010.

| Back To Top |

Copyright 2006 Ilocos Times. All rights reserved.

... View From the Belltower

... The Ilocano Way of Life

... Ilocano confirmed as member of Honolulu Police Commission

... Honoring Outstanding Filipinos at the UFCH Progress Awards

... Senator Lorraine Rodero Inouye - Distinguished Leader and Role Model