August 5, 2007

PCL elections 2007
IN councilors re-elect Lazo to second term as PCL prexy

BRUSHING aside the challenge from a colleague at the Laoag City Sangguniang Panlungsod, Laoag Councilor Vicentito M. Lazo won a second term as president of the Philippine Councilors’ League (PLC)-Laoag City, Ilocos Norte Chapter in the elections held August 2 at the Provincial Capitol Auditorium.

Lazo garnered a total of 148 votes against another Laoag City councilor, Atty. Donald Nicolas, who managed to get 76 votes.

Joining Lazo in the winning circle is Badoc Councilor Jonathan Torralba, who was elected executive vice president over Batac City Councilor Violeta Nalupta, 156-53.

Other new officials elected are Bangui Councilor Rogeric Balbag, vice president for the first district; Pinili Councilor Rommel Labasan, vice president for the second district; Bacarra Councilor Jolamar Go, secretary-general; Laoag City Councilor Constante F. Dancel Jr., treasurer; Pasuquin Councilor Elsie Dela Cruz, deputy treasurer;

Pasuquin Councilor Tomas Tacata, auditor; Nueva Era Councilor Cristeta Felipe, deputy auditor; Dingras Demandante, public relations officer; San Nicolas Councilor Angelo Ilaga, deputy PRO; and Laoag City Councilor Mariolito J. Carag, business manager.

Elected federation directors for the first district are: Pagudpud Councilor Efren Cimatu, Bangui Councilor Noriel Soriano, Piddig Councilor Melchor B. Guillen, and Vintar Councilor Lilia Agbayani.

For the second district the federation directors are: Solsona Councilor Jose Martin, Paoay Councilor Galen Pobre, Banna Councilor Evelyn Corpuz, San Nicolas Councilor Oscar Domingo, Pinili Councilor Amor Bagarino and Dingras Councilor Samuel Calano.

Lazo thanked all the members of the PCL who has given him another mandate to lead them for another three years.

Lazo vowed to do his best just like he did during his first term as PCL president.

The PCL election started at exactly 8 in the morning with the registration followed by the election proper after lunch.

This year’s PCL election is considered to be among the most successful staging as all councilors from the province’s 21 municipalities and two cities came out in full force.

Dominic B. dela Cruz

Other News updates:
Updates as of August 5, 2007:
Keon asks SP to declare IN under state of calamity
DOST: Ilocos residents face La Niña dry spell
Koreans eye direct flight to LC
IN councilors re-elect Lazo to second term as PCL prexy
Rotary launches construction of 10 potable water wells
US ambassador, consuls general visit Laoag City
Zonta Club of IN to host 1st Inter-District Confab
INWD bags 3 LWUA awards
MVF elected as LCP Region I representative
LC BJMP bags reg’l clean-and-green title


| Back To Top |

Copyright 2007 Ilocos Times. All rights reserved.