December 05 - December 11, 2005

Ilocos Norte hosts nat’l PPSA shootfest

The Philippine Practical Shooters Association (PPSA) Nationals 2005, considered one of the most prestigious shooting tournaments in the country today, was successfully held here recently.

“We had a good shooting experience, although, it was very difficult…. there was still a very high level of skill that was shown by the participants”, Ilocos Norte Governor Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. said during the Awarding Ceremony held at Fort Ilocandia Resort Hotel.

Governor Marcos also said that this prestigious event brought the province into the center of Philippine shooting.

Held from November 30 to December 3, this gathering of shooting personalities attended by local and international shooters drew a total of 322 top-class shooters from various gun clubs across the country.

The participants managed to hurdle 12 stages with varying degrees of difficulties and obstacles designed to tests the shooters’ speed and maneuverability.

Among those familiar faces in shooting who tested their skills were shooting enthusiasts Sandy Daza, 1911 President Joey De los Santos, Vic Mangibin, Rey Francisco, and actor Eddie Garcia among others.

Jeufro “Jag” Lejano, the current World Shoot Champion in the Modified Division and several regular members of the Philippine team were also here to measure their skills against the determined shooters from the different provinces.

Held in a range considered to be “one of the best”, the Marcos Combat Shooters Firing Range located in Suba, Paoay, has drawn praises because of its natural scenic view.

Governor Marcos thanked participating groups like the celebrated gun clubs of 1911, Armscorp, P.B. Dionisio, PMA Shooting Association, Quezon City Rifle, and Pistol Shooters Association (QCRPSA), Pangasinan Shooters Association, La Union Shooters Association, and several other gun clubs.

Despite the local shooters’ limited skills, members of gun clubs based in the province, like the Marcos Combat Shooters, Inc., Province of Ilocos Norte Shooters (PINS), and El Vibora stood in their grounds against the top shooters.

“I think there were some good performances from the smaller clubs and from the local clubs,” Marcos stated.

Proclaimed champions in their respective events are: Edwin Degula (Revolver Division); Jeufro “Jag” Lejano (Open Division); Rico Papa (Modified Division); Leonardo Hino (Production Division) and Rosendo Castro (Standard Division).

Other shooters who received special awards were: Abigail Harasa (Ladies Standard); Kenneth Ray Agustin (Junior Open); Alrend Dado (Junior Open); Vic Mangibin (Senior Open); Rey Francisco (Senior Standard); Jose Tuliao, Jr. (Senior Production); Dr. Joey De los Santos (Super Senior Production); Robert Cuch (Super Senior Standard); Eddie Garcia (Celebrity category); Sandy Daza (Media-Standard); and Romy Dick Harasa (Single-Stack).

Excel D. Guiang, Contributor

Other News...
... INWD to maintain current water rates
... Gov’t to launch mass deworming drive in schools
... Ilocos Norte hosts nat’l PPSA shootfest
... Marcos II urges PGIN to purchase from local market
... Cha-cha arrives in Ilocos Region
... Add’l bonus for City Hall employees ok’d
... LC competes in ‘Christmasterpiece’
... LC purchases Boer goats


| Back To Top |

Copyright 2005 Ilocos Times. All rights reserved.